

## OFFICE OF THE CLERK OF PARLIAMENT PARLIAMENT BUILDING OAU DRIVE, TOWER HILL FREETOWN



E-mail: sierraleoneparliament@hotmail.com/admin@parliament.gov.sl

8th MAY 2018

## PRESS RELEASE

## PARLIAMENT APPROVES CHIEF MINISTER AND FOUR OTHERS

Parliament of Sierra Leone on Tuesday 08th May 2018 also debated and approved the Third Report of the Committee on Appointments and the Public Service, chaired by the Leader of Government Business, Hon. Mohamed Sidi Tunis.

The Report has five presidential nominees, including Professors David J. Francis, the Chief Minister, and Aiah A. Gbakima, Minister of Technical and Higher Education.

The following presidential nominees have been approved by the House:

- 1. Professor David J. Francis-Chief Minister
- 2. Professor Aiah A. Gbakima-Minister of Technical and Higher Education
- 3. Ambassador Foday Yumkella-Minister of Political and Public Affairs
- 4. Ms. Isata Abdulai-Kamara-Resident Minister, North-West and
- 5. Mr. Ibrahim Nyelenkeh-Minister of Sports

Also seconding the motion, Hon. Dickson Rogers said that President Bio's nominees are ready to move the country to higher heights under the "New Direction".

For his part, Hon. Alhaji Dr. Kandeh Kolleh Yumkella, Leader of the National Grand Coalition (NGC), whilst speaking to the nominees on performance and service delivery, he cautioned them about "high expectations that are proportionate to disappointments".

Other MPs who contributed to the debate called on the nominees to behave as the servants of the people, to improve on medical laboratories and educational standards to ensure competition both in and out of the country.

Department of Public Relations

Parliament of Sierra Leone

OAU Drive, Tower Hill

Freetown

Tel: +23278495023/+23277669726/+23278426851